I Am Hgrrrrrrreat!

I braved 2 waving ladies in the hospital. I can wave too -- but only if you're a girl!

When my doctor and nurses ask me how I am, I show them all my teeth and say, “Hgrrrrrrrr!”

I spent the whole morning at the hospital today, and braved 2 needles, maybe 8 dogs, 5 cats and 2 bustling (but kind 🙂 ) nurses and 2 ladies who kept waving at me and exclaiming, “He’s so cute!”

Good, Blah & La

First, I had my blood drawn for a second test. Ouch! But I had a warm treat too: a very nice nurse who’s helped me with pills I refused to swallow over the last 7 years, brought out a sunshine-yellow towel for me to lie on 🙂

The test had good news and not-so-great news.

The best thing is, I don’t have hyperthyroidism. Many cats braving CRF do, unfortunately, and the treatments for one illness can clash with regiments for the other.

Some important things that should go down have done so: Phosphorus, a key toxin for cats like me, has declined from 4.7 in mid February to 3.7; Calcium, from 11.6 on  to 11.1; among other improvements.

Prescription k/d food formulated for low phosphorus, which I happen to love!

But two equally important indicators have increased:

Creatinine went from 3.1 in mid February to 3.4; Blood urea nitrogen (BUN) from 36 to 37. Please see full details at  My Medical Data page.

But emotional conditions like the stress of returning to the dreaded hospital and having 2 nurses wrap me, restrain my arm and draw blood can influence some blood values like BUN, although not others….

So, my subQ fluids have to continue. That’s the second needle I got today 😦

In fact, my doctor says I might want to get 3 instead of 2 subQs per week now. But friends with CRF experience looked at my blood test and said it’s not so bad.

No, I'm not pregnant. I'm a boy. This is what I look like after receiving subQ fluids -- they are stored under the skin and absorbed over a day.

Some of them think I shouldn’t even have to do subQs until my creatinine levels are above 3.5. I know, it’s 3.4 today…. My doctor doesn’t agree… Sigh, there are contradictory views about everything!

Like you humans say, Oh la la! Did I get that right? I am Siamese, not French….

Mahw!

Most importantly, I feel fine!

I shouted vigorously this morning when my garden exploration was limited to 10 minutes.

I’m eating better than ever before — 1 can of prescription food daily. Most other cats hate this stuff so much, they have to be forced, tricked or cajoled to eat it.

Bunnyspotting -- the tail end of the show!

Bunnyspotting yielded 2 big bunnies and 1 baby bunny this weekend.

Bird Theater still goes on, and I bust my boundaries in the garden when no one’s looking.

I also visited Miracle, a tiny kitten with both legs broken and hip bones crushed. Her organs are probably

It's a Miracle!

injured and her tail “died” and fell off. I’m glad I managed to give her my Woolly Lamb, a Christmas gift from my neighbor Friday. I just wanted Miracle to know a big kitty kat cares…

As I’ve often said, my name is Metta. It means lovingkindness. That’s what I teach humans!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment